What is a SEER rating?

SEER rating stands for Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio. This is the way the efficiency of air conditioning systems are often rated. The SEER rating is determined in the U.S. by dividing the BTU of the system by the energy consumed in watt-hours. The higher the SEER rating the more efficient the system is. In the United States as of January 1, 2015 the minimum SEER rating was increased across the nation by the Department of Energy. The changes were broken up into three regions. They are North, South, and South West. The states with their corresponding region is listed below.


 The North Region States are:

  • Alaska,Colorado,Connecticut,Idaho,Illinois,Indiana,Iowa,Kansas,Massachusetts,Michigan,Minnesota,Missouri,Montana,New Hampshire,New Jersey,New York,North Dakota,Ohio,Oregon,Pennsylvania,Rhode Island and Maine,South Dakota,Utah,Vermont,Washington,West Virginia,Wisconsin,and Wyoming

 The South Region States are:

  • Alabama,Arkansas,District of Columbia,Florida,Georgia,Hawaii and Delaware,Kentucky,Louisiana,Maryland,Mississippi,North Carolina,Oklahoma,South Carolina,Tennessee,Texas,and Virginia

 The Southwest Region States are:

  • Arizona, California,Nevada,and New Mexico


 The new standards are as follows.


  Split System Air Conditioners

  •  North Region- minimum of 13 SEER
  •  South Region- minimum of 14 SEER
  •  Southwest Region- minimum 14 SEER with 11.7 EER at and above 45,000 BTUs and 12.2 below 45,000 BTUs

 Split System Heat Pumps

  • All Regions- minimum of 14 SEER, 8.2 HSPF

 Packaged Air Conditioners

  • North & South Regions- minimum of 14 SEER
  • Southwest Region- 14 SEER and 11 EER

 Packaged Heat Pumps

  • All Regions- minimum of 14 SEER and 8 HSPF

 Gas Packs

  • All Regions- 14 SEER and 81% AFUE
Last update:
2015-03-18 04:46
Average rating:0 (0 Votes)

You cannot comment on this entry

Chuck Norris has counted to infinity. Twice.